I am not Trayvon Martin

I am not Trayvon Martin
I am not writing an affirmation poem
I am not anywhere the sunlight goes
I am not socially constructed
I am not blind to color
I am not living in a post-racial America
I am not cotton money
I am not Katrina
I am not Emmet Till
I am not wide awake
I am not NBA
I am not kindred
I am not willing to sacrifice my integrity
I am not as aware as I should be
I am not history
I am not mourning the loss of a brother
I am not housing projects
I am not too liberal for honesty
I am not Hollywood
I am not Kent State
I am not here to save anyone
I am not broken glass or fractured stone
I am not sure how to make any sound come out
I am not satisfied with truth
I am not explaining this to children
I am not absolved
I am not white guilt because I’m too set on solution
I am not a savior
I am not whistling a familiar tune
I am not writing an affirmation poem
I am not playing Sonny’s Blues
I am not writing a paper for English B
I am not Harlem or Bed-Stuy
I am not Solyndra
I am not televising a revolution
I am not the rose that grew from concrete
I am not living on a plantation
I am not pretending
I am not a prayer that you can swallow
I am not Pecola Breedlove
I am not Syrian
I am no coliseum
I am no academic
I am no wilted flower
I am no moonlight
I am not fluent in bullshit
I am not drowning in the open air
I am not framing a diploma
I am not turning the mirrors around
I am not bleaching my skin or hair
I am not Atlantic Ocean voyage
I am not port
I am not wading in blood
I am not pulsing heart
I am not holy
I am not relic
I am not what I once was
I am not writing an affirmation poem

Leave a Reply

